FeedForAll Forum Index  
 Home  •  FAQ  •   Search   •  Register   •  Profile   •  Log in
 Any example files? Where does debug go? View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:27 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I am trying to create an sql2rss feed for the first time. I think I have followed the instructions, but I get a blank screen when I think I should get a database dump.

It would be helpful to see some working configuration, item and channel files that I can compare to what I have made. I probably have just made a simple error, and an example would probably point out the error.

Also, one of the other forum questions asked about the $debug=3; line. I have not found anything in the instructions about this line. What instructions refer to it? Exactly where should it go?

thanks
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:10 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ksr1 wrote:
I am trying to create an sql2rss feed for the first time. I think I have followed the instructions, but I get a blank screen when I think I should get a database dump.

It would be helpful to see some working configuration, item and channel files that I can compare to what I have made. I probably have just made a simple error, and an example would probably point out the error.

Also, one of the other forum questions asked about the $debug=3; line. I have not found anything in the instructions about this line. What instructions refer to it? Exactly where should it go?

thanks


If you are getting no output, then you most likely are having a database problem. Either you don't have the correct username/password or host name. The next possible problem is the QUERY string is not setup right.

It is not practical to give examples, because every setup is different. But the example files do work if the database was create by RSS2SQL. But if you adjust it almost any database layout will work.

Jim

_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/

FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
support@FeedForAll.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:43 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I thank you for replying - I know the user name and password are correct for the database - the port may have been wrong, I was having trouble with a Coffee Cup form and finally got to talk to a technician - Yahoo had said the port was 25 - but the technician got the form builder to work with a port of 0.
So, after reading your e-mail I thought I would try that. It still doesn't work. Here is the address: http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall/sql2rss.php
My build config file is at - http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall/mybuildconfig.php and the configuration file is at http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall/myconfiggile.php
Did I call the file right? The man who did the query string assures me that its okay.
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:59 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ksr1 wrote:
I thank you for replying - I know the user name and password are correct for the database - the port may have been wrong, I was having trouble with a Coffee Cup form and finally got to talk to a technician - Yahoo had said the port was 25 - but the technician got the form builder to work with a port of 0.
So, after reading your e-mail I thought I would try that. It still doesn't work. Here is the address: http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall/sql2rss.php
My build config file is at - http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall/mybuildconfig.php and the configuration file is at http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall/myconfiggile.php
Did I call the file right? The man who did the query string assures me that its okay.


Both port 25 and 0 are wrong. Usually the port defaults 3306 for MySQL and doesn't need to be specified.

Jim

_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/

FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
support@FeedForAll.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Here is the configuration file:
<?php

$config["DBuser"]= "fairsdb";
$config["DBpassword"] = "george";
$config["DBmachine"] = "3306";
$config["DBdatabase"] = "FairsDB";
$config["DBtype"] = "mysql";

$debugLevel = 3;

?>
I want to point out that the debug thingy doesn't work either. Anyway way is DBmachine? - so,, presuming my fairsdb and password are okay and FairsDB is the database name - is everything else okay??
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:28 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ksr1 wrote:
Here is the configuration file:
<?php

$config["DBuser"]= "fairsdb";
$config["DBpassword"] = "george";
$config["DBmachine"] = "3306";
$config["DBdatabase"] = "FairsDB";
$config["DBtype"] = "mysql";

$debugLevel = 3;

?>
I want to point out that the debug thingy doesn't work either. Anyway way is DBmachine? - so,, presuming my fairsdb and password are okay and FairsDB is the database name - is everything else okay??


If the database is on the same machine as the web server then DBmachine is "localhost" if it is on a different machine the DBmachine is the domain name of that server.

Jim

_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/

FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
support@FeedForAll.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:20 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

By the way I really really appreciate you trying to help me. Now, I tried - in this order - countyfairgrounds.net and then yahoo.com and then http://www.countyfairgrounds.net - none worked - well the address http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall/sql2rss.php - still has nothing on it.
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:39 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

we took the Machine line out - and it still didn't work. Then I tried http://www.yahoo.com and that didn't work. So, please which file specifically should it be. The database of course is on the Yahoo server. Also, maybe its the channel template file. I did not change anything - I loaded it to http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall - as a part of the Mybuildconfig thingy... without changing anything. Is that okay?
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:01 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ksr1 wrote:
we took the Machine line out - and it still didn't work. Then I tried http://www.yahoo.com and that didn't work. So, please which file specifically should it be. The database of course is on the Yahoo server. Also, maybe its the channel template file. I did not change anything - I loaded it to http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall - as a part of the Mybuildconfig thingy... without changing anything. Is that okay?


www.yahoo.com is not right, becase that is their webservers. I am sure when you setup the database you were given the information. If you can't find it ask your network administrator or ISP tech support.

Jim

_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/

FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
support@FeedForAll.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:23 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Okay, I called Yahoo (again, >>>) I don't know if anyone else has noticed but Yahoo is going downhill - they used to be great m not anymore. The technician was again baffled by what I was asking him. He said use mysql for the server address (which is what I believe goes into this spot) It did not work of course. Neither does 0, http://www.yahoo.com, http://www.countyfairgrounds.net, countyfairgrounds, net, that 33 something number that you told me to use doesn 't work either. 21 does not work, 50 does not work, 26 does not work. The thing does not work. I am getting depressed because I called the company about this problem and have sent the files that I filled out to the best of my ability - and no one wants to help. Does this script work anywhere for anyone??
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

and local host does not work. This database is on the Yahoo server.
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:49 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ksr1 wrote:
Okay, I called Yahoo (again, >>>) I don't know if anyone else has noticed but Yahoo is going downhill - they used to be great m not anymore. The technician was again baffled by what I was asking him. He said use mysql for the server address (which is what I believe goes into this spot) It did not work of course. Neither does 0, http://www.yahoo.com, http://www.countyfairgrounds.net, countyfairgrounds, net, that 33 something number that you told me to use doesn 't work either. 21 does not work, 50 does not work, 26 does not work. The thing does not work. I am getting depressed because I called the company about this problem and have sent the files that I filled out to the best of my ability - and no one wants to help. Does this script work anywhere for anyone??


Well "http://www.yahoo.com" and "http://www.countyfairgrounds.net" are not host names, they are URLs. "www.yahoo.com" and "www.countyfairgrounds.net" are hostnames.

Jim

_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/

FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
support@FeedForAll.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:24 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

This is the address I am trying to reach and the page is coming up blank.
http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/feedforall/sql2rss.php I am also using Firefox by the way for a browser.
Here is the item template file I am using....

<item>
<eventname>~~~EventName~~~</eventname>

<link>~~~WebSite~~~</link>

<description>~~~Theme~~~</description>
<pubDate>~~~RSSDATE(ItemPubDate_t)~~~</pubDate>
</item>
__________________________________________
Here is the config file I am using -

<?php
$debugLevel = 3;
$config["DBuser"]= "fairsdb";
$config["DBpassword"] = "george";
$config["DBdatabase"] = "FairsDB";
$config["DBmachine"] = "www.countyfairgrounds.net";
$config["DBtype"] = "mysql";
\

?>
_____________________________
Here is the other file I am using....

<?PHP

//
// Enable the caching for the resulting XML file. Since it may take time to
$useOutputCaching = 0;

//
// The variable $outputCacheTTL controls how many seconds a cached copy of
// resulting RSS feed can be used before it must be recreated.
$outputCacheTTL = 3600;

//
// $ChannelTemplate is the XML file that contains the outer, , items
// for the produced feed. This MUST be a valid RSS 2.0 feed without any
// 's. It must also specify "UTF-8" encoding, since all the produced
// items will be in UTF-8.
$ChannelTemplate = "sql2rss_ChannelTemplate.xml";

//
// $ItemTemplate is the ITEM file that contains the the template for .
// This MUST be a valid RSS 2.0 feed . It must also specify "UTF-8"
// encoding, since all the produced items will be in UTF-8.
$ItemTemplate = "sql2rss_ItemTemplate1.xml";

//
// $configFile is the configuration file with the database username and
// password
$DBconfigFile = "myconfigfile.php";

//
// $SQLQuery is a valid database query for your database
$SQLQuery = "SELECT EventName FROM FairListings WHERE LocationState ='FL' ORDER BY StartDate";

//
// Since we are calling sql2rss.php from here, we don't want
// to include a separate config file.
$ConfigFilename = "DO_NOT_INCLUDE_CONFIG";
if (!isset($_REQUEST["buildConfig"])) {
@include_once("sql2rss.php");
}
$debugLevel = 3;

?>

$debugLevel = 3;
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:39 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

<?php
$debugLevel = 3;
$config["DBuser"]= "ksrpublishing@countyfairgrounds.net";
$config["DBpassword"] = "george";
$config["DBdatabase"] = "FairsDB";
$config["DBmachine"] = "www.countyfairgrounds.net";
$config["DBtype"] = "mysql";

WHAT is this field for??
$config["DBuser"] - right now I put in my website user name - it didn't work anyway
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
ksr1



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Bailey, Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:20 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Okay, is there someone who can go over this script with me? I felel I have looked at it so many times that I about have it memorized. I have questions about the item template. And please cannot someone tell me what DBmachine is suppose to be?
View user's profileSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteYahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme