FeedForAll Forum Index  
 Home  •  FAQ  •   Search   •  Register   •  Profile   •  Log in
 Duplicate Checking View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
paps



Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 1:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi again Jim,

thanks for helping me out on the previous issues.

My current question has to do with checking for duplicates.
What I would like to do is to add items only if their url is different.

I'm asking this because, in one of the feeds, the title or the description
change, and the item is added again. Therefore, I would like the
duplicate checking to be done only by comparing the urls.

Can you please point out what I need to change in the code?

Kind regards,
Alex
View user's profile
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:09 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

paps wrote:
Hi again Jim,

thanks for helping me out on the previous issues.

My current question has to do with checking for duplicates.
What I would like to do is to add items only if their url is different.

I'm asking this because, in one of the feeds, the title or the description
change, and the item is added again. Therefore, I would like the
duplicate checking to be done only by comparing the urls.

Can you please point out what I need to change in the code?

Kind regards,
Alex


You could make the link field in MySQL unique and make the database do the work for you.

Jim

_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/

FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
support@FeedForAll.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
damian0612



Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:45 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm interested in this, as I have noticed from time to time, some feeds for some reason being refreshed every 15 minutes with te sames tories resulting in a series of duplicate entries.

If I make the ItemLink field unique, what will happen when the I refresh and rss2sql goes to add the feed again, will it get an error and just stop or will it carry on and skip the duplicates?

Thanks
Damian
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme