FeedForAll Forum Index  
 Home  •  FAQ  •   Search   •  Register   •  Profile   •  Log in
 Browse Remote Server does not show choices View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
libarsh



Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:14 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I have set up an RSS feed - publishing works correctly to local site but does not publish to server. I have entered all correct ftp information and a Feed Path given to me by my site host but feed still does not publish to server.

The "Browse Remote Server" does not return file information despite correct ftp information so I cannot confirm the feed path.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Larry
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2782

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:24 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Larry,

What shows up in the FTP log when you try to Publish to that folder? Also, if you can't browse the FTP site, it could be that the FTP method you have selected (FTP, PASV or PORT) is incorrect.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
libarsh



Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:28 am Reply with quoteBack to top

thanks

======================================
FeedForAll Mac v2.1 (2.1.0.1)
======================================
FTP SERVER: 64.27.56.101
USERNAME: ratece.com
======================================

======================================
REMOTE PATH: wwwroot/ratece.com/news
REMOTE FILENAME: RateCE.xml
======================================

> QUIT
< 221
* Closing connection #0
* About to connect() to 64.27.56.101 port 21
* Trying 64.27.56.101... * connected
* Connected to 64.27.56.101 (64.27.56.101) port 21
< 220 Microsoft FTP Service
> USER ratece.com
< 331 Password required for ratece.com.
> PASS ********
< 230 User ratece.com logged in.
> PWD
< 257 "/ratece.com" is current directory.
* Entry path is '/ratece.com'
> CWD wwwroot
< 250 CWD command successful.
> CWD ratece.com
< 250 CWD command successful.
> CWD news
< 250 CWD command successful.
> PASV
* Connect data stream passively
< 227 Entering Passive Mode (64,27,56,101,21,144).
* Trying 64.27.56.101... * connected
* Connecting to 64.27.56.101 (64.27.56.101) port 5520
> TYPE I
< 200 Type set to I.
> STOR RateCE.xml
< 125 Data connection already open; Transfer starting.
* Remembering we are in dir wwwroot/ratece.com/news/
< 226 Transfer complete.
* Connection #0 to host 64.27.56.101 left intact



SUMMARY OF PUBLISHING RESULTS:
==============================
Feed: Published successfully
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2782

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:51 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Interesting... the FTP log is indicating that the feed is published, which you mentioned was happening successfully to the local site. Though, when you say it doesn't publish to the server, what do you mean? The FTP log is indicating that the feed is being uploaded to the specified FTP server.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
libarsh



Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:56 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I just looked at the server files - it is indeed being published to the server BUT not in the wwwroot folder. I guess there is a server path error but I don't know how to fix it.
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2782

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:04 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

This may sound like an odd question but if you use your credentials to log in to your FTP site with a normal FTP program, is wwwroot listed as one of the directories immediately or is it nested under a series of directories?

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
libarsh



Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:09 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

immediate directory (I think)
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2782

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

What you'll want to do is go in to your publish settings and set the feed path to /wwwroot/ and then try re-publishing the feed. That should allow the program to specify the wwwroot directory as the Feed Upload path.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
libarsh



Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:38 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Done and working, thanks
View user's profile
carenxxx



Joined: 01 May 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 2:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks for opening this thread libarsh! got the same problem here and now it's working ! thanks!

_________________
keep smiling :)
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme