FeedForAll Forum Index  
 Home  •  FAQ  •   Search   •  Register   •  Profile   •  Log in
 Google Feed View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
webfeatus



Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

http://www.villabali.com/bali-information/latest-bali-news.php
I cannot get ~~~ItemDescription~~~ to work.
Is this because the feed is atom?
http://news.google.com/news?pz=1&ned=us&hl=en&q=bali&output=atom
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 3:10 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Correct. The ATOM specification doesn't use the standard ItemDescription tags, so the script can't pull anything from it.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
webfeatus



Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:05 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

So is there any workaround?
Are all Google feeds = atom?
Meaning that this script cannot process any Google Feeds?
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:31 am Reply with quoteBack to top

The script was only intended for use with feeds in the RSS 2.0 specification and can't translate anything that isn't written in that specification. If you're familiar enough with PHP, it is possible that you could recode the templates to work off of the ATOM specification, though.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
webfeatus



Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:10 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I am having a lot of problems with this script now.
I did not in the past.

What is this page not showing the html references to images?
http://www.gajahminaresort.com/feedback.php
(ATOM again?)
View user's profile
webfeatus



Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:02 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello.

Is this problem your script?
Or my implementation?
Or Atom feed?

Please advise.
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:24 am Reply with quoteBack to top

With the output of http://www.gajahminaresort.com/feedback.php, what is the original feed that the script is translating from?

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
webfeatus



Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:29 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Tech Support wrote:
With the output of http://www.gajahminaresort.com/feedback.php, what is the original feed that the script is translating from?


<?
$XMLFILE = "http://www.tripadvisor.com/Feeds-d602865-treviews.xml";
$TEMPLATE = "http://www.gajahminaresort.com/rss2template2.html";
$MAXITEMS = "10";
include("rss2html.php");
?>
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:22 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

What's odd is that it works fine with the standard template. For example, just to see what it would look like, I uploaded a test copy.

The output does show the images properly, so I'm thinking it's something to do with your web hosting provider/web server but I'm not entirely sure what. As you can see the line references the test script on our side and the rest of the variables are your template and your feed.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing

Last edited by Tech Support on Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:01 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile
webfeatus



Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Not parsing the xml html code (escapes?) on my server and I do not know why. Is there a php setting that should active in php.ini? I can see no firewall rules being alerted.

Changed doc type to xhtml:
http://www.gajahminaresort.com/feedback1.php

However, like you example, my test works here:
http://www.mangotoo.com/feedback1.php
(different server)

Are you able to help me work out why the xml html is not being parsed correctly on my main server?
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:04 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Ah! I think I've found it. The original charset value on your website is charset=iso-8859-1. If you can have that changed to UTF-8, the images should display properly.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
webfeatus



Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:17 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I tried all those options long ago.
Please check the source code in my 2 examples above.
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:22 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Hmm... it would appear you are correct. When I was looking at http://www.gajahminaresort.com/, the encoding is in ISO but the encoding for http://www.gajahminaresort.com/feedback.php is in UTF-8. Unfortunately, I really don't know why your http://www.gajahminaresort.com/ web server won't display the images properly. You may want to speak with your webhosting provider or web server administrator about it.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme