FeedForAll Forum Index  
 Home  •  FAQ  •   Search   •  Register   •  Profile   •  Log in
 trying to put rss on site like in Example 3 in stiky notes View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:32 am Reply with quoteBack to top

hi
i got this from my hosting service :

Unfortunately remote SSH access is only available on our Premium and Business hosting plans. SSH console, however, is available on all plans and can be accessed at http://cpanel.hostinger.in/advanced/ssh-console/aid/6535853

SO i triede the second method you gave me, but i didn't succeed :

u523623563$ [/home/u523623563/]

u523623563$ [/home/u523623563/] ssh /home/u523623563/u523623563.me@tdawool.esy.ps
-bash: ssh /home/u523623563/u523623563.me@tdawool.esy.ps: command not found
u523623563$ [/home/u523623563/] ssh /home/u523623563@tdawool.esy.ps
-bash: ssh /home/u523623563@tdawool.esy.ps: command not found
u523623563$ [/home/u523623563/] ssh u523623563@tdawool.esy.ps
-bash: ssh u523623563@tdawool.esy.ps: command not found

so is there a way or i am doing something wrong
or should i move to a different hosting ,and if so could you be kind to suggest on free web hosting with PHP support .
thanks
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:55 am Reply with quoteBack to top

The initial commands were to connect you to the server via SSH. Since you are using the SSH console on the system, the only command you need to try is the one to try downloading the rss feed.

This one:

wget www.investing.com/rss/news_1.rss

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:24 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ok it worked for that user (the public) /home/u523623563/
my other user that for the rss is u523623563.me
but i don't know how to move to that directory u523623563.me
anyway i will try to find out from the web and if you can guide me it will be much faster
thank's
View user's profile
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:26 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ok it worked for that user (the public) /home/u523623563/

u523623563$ [/home/u523623563/] ls
DO_NOT_UPLOAD_HERE
news_1.rss
public_html

my other user that for the rss is u523623563.me
but i don't know how to move to that directory u523623563.me
anyway i will try to find out from the web and if you can guide me it will be much faster
thank's
View user's profile
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:44 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I succeeded in adding the rss file to my file manager by the console :
23623563$ [/home/u523623563/] cd public_html
u523623563$ [/home/u523623563/public_html/] ls
1 copy 1.html
1.html
1.jpg
15a.jpg
FeedForAll_XMLParser.inc.php
_file-manager
ar.html
c.html
c.jpg
d.html
d.jpg
default.html
default.php
default2.html
english.html
i.jpg
mail.php
mail1.php
mail2.php
rss2html.php
sample-template.html
sample.xml
test10.jpg
untitled file.txt

u523623563$ [/home/u523623563/public_html/] wget www.investing.com/rss/news_1.rss
-bash: wget www.investing.com/rss/news_1.rss: 5450af0d79676: SID#66: srv66-5450af621419a0.40403826 - --2014-10-29 09:12:02-- http://www.investing.com/rss/news_1.rss
Resolving www.investing.com... 217.68.26.117
Connecting to www.investing.com|217.68.26.117|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 2940 (2.9K) [application/rss+xml]
Saving to: `news_1.rss'

0K .. 100% 300M=0s

2014-10-29 09:12:02 (300 MB/s) - `news_1.rss' saved [2940/2940]


u523623563$ [/home/u523623563/public_html/] ls
1 copy 1.html
1.html
1.jpg
15a.jpg
FeedForAll_XMLParser.inc.php
_file-manager
ar.html
c.html
c.jpg
d.html
d.jpg
default.html
default.php
default2.html
english.html
i.jpg
mail.php
mail1.php
mail2.php
news_1.rss
rss2html.php
sample-template.html
sample.xml
test10.jpg
untitled file.txt

and now why it doesn't show my news in http://tdawool.esy.es/d.html
i have sample-template.html to feed the news from the rss file
any suggestion will be welcomed
thank's
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 1:42 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm trying to run some test, but your sample template is kind of messed up, so I can't get too far.
Can you update your sample-template.html file so it matches the text below?

Thanks

Code:

<html>
<head>
<meta charset="UTF-8">
<title>تداول بأمان</title>
</head>
<body>
<table width=100% border=1 cellspacing=0>
~~~BeginItemsRecord~~~
<TR>
    <TD>
        ~~~ItemPubShortDate~~~ ~~~ItemPubShortTime~~~
    </TD>
</TR>
<TR>
    <TD>
        <B><A href="~~~ItemLink~~~">~~~ItemTitle~~~</A></B>
    </TD>
</TR>
<TR>
    <TD>
        ~~~ItemDescription~~~
        <BR>
        <BR>
    </TD>
</TR>
~~~EndItemsRecord~~~
</table>
</body>
</html>

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:01 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

hi
i have updated the file as you asked
thank's for the help
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:51 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok, things seem to be working better now. When I use this link:

http://tdawool.esy.es/rss2html.php?XMLFILE=www.investing.com/rss/news_1.rss&TEMPLATE=sample-template.html

I do get what is expected, so rss2html.php does seem to be working, and the feed is being pulled from the investing.com server properly.

Can you put up a test page (test.html) with just the following:
Code:

<html>
<head>
</head>
<body>
<!--#INCLUDE VIRTUAL="rss2html.php?TEMPLATE=sample-template.html&XMLFILE=news_1.rss" -->
</body>
</html>

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:04 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ok i have added the page "test.html"
:)
View user's profile
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:44 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

hi again first of all you are [u]#1[/u]
i have a silly question :
do i have to update the rss every day manually or it update automatically
thank's
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 5:16 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Every time someone accesses your page it will pull the most current copy of the feed, so you don't need to do anything to keep it updated.

From my test it looks like the webserver isn't processing the INCLUDE statement in the test.html webpage. Some servers will only look for INCLUDEs if the webpage has shtml for an extension. Can you please rename test.html to test.shtml.

Thanks

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 5:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ok i renamed it
:)
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2783

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 6:31 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

The server side include still isn't working.

You probably need to inquire with your web host what is necessary to get server side includes working for your webpages.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:01 am Reply with quoteBack to top

ok
thank you very much ,i will do that .
i tried to add an iframe to include the sample_template.html
but it didn't work it just gave me the template alone with no news in it .
thank you very much and have a nice day.
View user's profile
tdawool



Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:57 am Reply with quoteBack to top

hi
i didn't talked to my web host person yet, but i am planing tomorrow
but i managed to add the news by putting the rss
http://tdawool.esy.es/rss2html.php?XMLFILE=www.investing.com/rss/news_1.rss&TEMPLATE=temp.html
to an iframe
http://tdawool.esy.es/1.html i think it ok like that don't you
if you have any other ways i would love to hear it
thank's you where a great helper.
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme