FeedForAll Forum Index  
 Home  •  FAQ  •   Search   •  Register   •  Profile   •  Log in
 Questions regarding FFA Mac View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
sigerson



Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:48 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi, I just purchased FFA Mac to use with my website built with Everweb.

Everything seems to be working, but there are some quirks:

First it takes 5 seconds for the feed to load on my webpage - www.cstevenellis.com/podcast.

Then the word null appears at the bottom of the feed? Is there anyway to make it go away?

Thanks for your help.

Craig Ellis
craig@craigandbethany.com
View user's profile
sigerson



Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:50 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

[quote="sigerson"]Hi, I just purchased FFA Mac to use with my website built with Everweb.

Everything seems to be working, but there are some quirks:

First it takes 5 seconds for the feed to load on my webpage - www.cstevenellis.com/podcast.html.

Then the word null appears at the bottom of the feed? Is there anyway to make it go away?

Thanks for your help.

Craig Ellis
craig@craigandbethany.com[/quote]
View user's profile
sigerson



Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:51 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Just go to my page www.cstevenellis.com and link to podcast.

Thanks
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2782

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:03 am Reply with quoteBack to top

To help me understand what's happening on your site, what's the link to the XML file of your feed?

Also, are you using our RSS2HTML script to translate your RSS feed in to browser viewable content for the output on your Podcast page?

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
sigerson



Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 4:43 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks for your quick reply.

My website with built with Everweb an object oriented design tool. This program has an RSS widget that, when linked to the feeder .xml file puts the list on my web page.

I have not used the RSS2HTML script to translate my RSS feed to my browser. Although, I spent most of today trying to get it to work without any success. I"m not a programmer and most likely lack the skill necessary to make it work. Perhaps you have a video that shows the best way to set it up?

Thanks again,
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2782

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:00 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Craig,

Since you aren't using RSS2HTML, I don't know that I can help directly debug why the word "Null" is showing up when you translate your feed. Normally, that sort of thing means you have a statement that's not closing out or an extra hanging bit of data that isn't being resolved before the translation is done but I wouldn't know where inside your translation routine to check.

We do, however, have a video tutorial on how to configure the RSS2HTML script here: http://www.feedforall.com/videos/config-rss2html.htm

Maybe RSS2HTML can translate the feed in to browser viewable content without the hanging "Null".

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
sigerson



Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:41 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Using the video tutorial I have it working. I created an iframe that displays the feed nicely. However, when it is clicked, the link opens in the same window. I what the link to open in a new window...the html page where the file is located.

I searched the web and found that there is a command "target_blank" that can be used, but I have no idea where to employ it. Is there something in the FeedForAll program that can set this for me. Do I have to edit the Sample-Template.html file? If so, how do I do that?

Again, thanks for your help.

Craig
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2782

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:11 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Craig,

What you'll want to do is edit the template and modify the code so that clicked links open in a new browser window. To do that, you'll want to look for this line of code:
<A href="~~~ItemLink~~~">~~~ItemTitle~~~</A>

and change it to this:
<A href="~~~ItemLink~~~" target="_blank">~~~ItemTitle~~~</A>

That extra statement turns any of your item links in to links that open in new windows.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
sigerson



Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:26 am Reply with quoteBack to top

It worked! Thank you, so much.
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme