FeedForAll Forum Index  
 Home  •  FAQ  •   Search   •  Register   •  Profile   •  Log in
 Newbie with Questions - View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:08 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello,

First, I want to thank Jim and tech and the others for the scripts and for the forum help. If it wasn't for this forum I would still be on a Windows server at GoDaddy wondering why the template was failing.

I am new to rss2html so I have a really stupid question. After I run the script, I get three sets of code. I do not want an shtml file, just becasue I wish to get indexed and am scare of it.. So I guess I would use the PHP methods.

My question is this, can I just cut and paste the PHP code that is created from running the script into an exisiting webpage?

Here is what I am trying to do. I have over 250 RSS feeds with hotel deals for 250 different cities. I plan on creating 250 different .html files with a custom head section and maybe some ads etc.. then pasting the PHP code (after running the script for that particular RSS eed) into the "body" section of that html page.

Would that work? Would it dynamically update? Would the search engines see the .html page with the dynamically created content?

I am kind of lost at this point.

Here is a link to one of my feeds so you know what it is I am trying to accomplish - at least thus far.

http://reservations.travelexpert.us/hotel/deals/10020364/249/rss.xml

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:24 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

It would be nice if someone would respond back to my post. ANyway, I am making a lot of pregress and I LOVE THIS SCRIPT!!!!!!RSS2HTML

Can someone tell me what I am supposed to do with the three pieces of code that are generated? Can you just cut and paste the code into a .html doc? Or do you need to have the .PHP extension of the filename?

By the way, this rss2html works like a charm. I have a decent template I have been working on and I only need alter it for the changes to be made in effect to over 250 pages.

Here is a useful link for those of us that are new to "PHP" -

What is PHP?
PHP is a widely-used general-purpose scripting language that is especially suited for Web development and can be embedded into HTML. http://www.php.net/

I plan on looking at the PRO version and at the Cache and other tools FeedForAll has to offer.

I had no idea that .PHP pages were handled exactly like HTML pages in a browser and really at the search engines..

Can someone mention the differences on using the Server Side Includes versus using the PHP Include?

By the way, I was a GoDaddy Windows hosted account and I had to switch to a LINUX hosted account because the template was failing. Luckily, I stumbled upon another rss2html user who had already trudged through the same problems as I was having - which by the way I found by searching this site from the google toolbar.

This forum could really use a search function and some of the usage documentation could use some improvement. Things like having the rss2html files in the exact same subfolder (directory) as the template and your files. I was getting an error because of that as well and found the answer on this forum ..

ANyway, can someone answer my question to the above question of which way is best to utilize the code that is built from the buildURL?

I have my feed working nicely from the link that is created and have spent a great deal of time on my template which I can later return to and tweak as needed. But I am at the point of using the code in either a .php file or in a .html file.

What I have found so far is that although Dreamweaver will allow me to paste the php code in an html document that it just comes up blank in the browser. But if I use the same code with the file extension.PHP that the feed (which is populating a template thus giving me a webpage) IS viewable.

So, I am on Linux with APache and I think it is PHP 4.1 but I can also use 5. at GODaddy. In what instances would you use the Server Side Include versus using one of the two sets of PHP include? I know this is a stupid question but my webmaster skills are more cut and paste rather than "how things work".

Is it because of the .htaccess or the ren_MODe or whatever?

One thing I have learned is that there are websites out there utilizing PHP for their entire sites.. something I had no idea of. I have just begun to grasp the concepts of rss2html and have not scratched the surface of the benefits that it can bring and of its capabilities - let alone of the other products like the PRO version etc. .. needless to say, I am real happy to have found the FeedForAll website and I hope the tools and information found here will help our sites grow and flourish.

Thanks to all.. and how about a reply?

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:57 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have been using Dreamweaver for a long time and had no idea what a server side include is/was.. now i have some idea..
Basically, i can just paste the server side include into my html pages and WAH-LAH - the page is dynamically populated from the template and the RSS feed.. I tell ya, this rss2html software is amazing.

Rss2html was a little hard to get past the use, and some barriers at GoDaddy and my own lack of knowledge was the biggest stumbling block. But I am on track to have over 250 dynamicly created webpages real soon.. just as soon as I finish pasting the SSI code into each one and alter it for my specific feed.. it is taking a while. If someone is curious what I have thus far you can see one of my "NEW" web pages which utilizes rss2html php scripting here:

http://www.travelexpert.us/hotel/cayman-islands-hotels.html

The page is a bit bush league as I am no webdesigner by any means but it suits my purposes and maybe just maybe will get my pages indexed! I also have a lot of other ideas on how I can utilize the script and then maybe the pro version etc.

I think PHP is great, i can just change the single template and make changes to my 250 webpages in one stroke... plus - my 250 webpages all have dynamiccontent which is updated daily.. and I think GoogleBot LOVES fresh content that is relevant and provides answers to a question.

By the way, I found this tidbit on SSIn at smartwebby - it may help another novice such as myself.

What are Server Side Includes?
Server Side Includes are files that have some commonly used code that can be reused by many pages in your site. When you use a SSI file the server takes the entire content of the file and inserts it into the page, replacing the include code. As an example, imagine you have a large portal web site with links at the top, bottom and sides common to all pages (or a section of pages). To make the site easy to maintain you can have the header, footer, right menu and/or left menu as include files. So when there is a change to be made you just need to make the changes, save and upload the corresponding include file and not the many files using it.

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:06 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Well, I have made progress. if you look at my main home page - at the bottom of the page of http://www.travelexpert.us/ you will see about 233 links to different cities. Each and every page is created with a template utilizing an RSS XML feed (third or second party) and is dynamically created.

Basically, I cut and pasted the Server side include code generated by the script into an HTML document. Rss2HTML is truly amazing. Each page is dynamically updated with the latest hotel deals for that city!! It is cool.

For some reason, like I said I am a novice, when I cut and pasted the SSI code into an .HTM document - the page was blank and failed. But when I utilized a .htmL document it works fine.. I am not sure of the difference and didnt want to use a .php doc just yet even though the search engines are supposed to be fine with it I guess I am old school.

Tips:
1. make certain ALL rss2html files are located in the same folder as your template and files - it worked for me.
2. make sure of your url to the rss feed.. i had a blank space at the beginning of the feed url and it failed.. was cutting and pasting from Star Office Calc (Free MS office from Sun)
3. templates can take a lot of work, it is just easier to buy access to the folder on this site and utilize one that is premade and tweak it.
4. If you are running a windows server on GoDaddy - it is likely the template will fail and you will be hard pressed to figure out why. I had to switch to Linux.
5. If you have problems, utilize the Google toolbar's drop down menu option of searching just this feedforall forum site for the exact error you are getting and you will see what solutions others have used to fix problems and error messages..

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:51 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Just to let everyone know. The script is working perfectly. It just takes a long time to tweak the templates. I have about 260 rss feeds that are dynamically updating over 260 html webpages. I cant believe this script is free! It does take the novice quite a bit of time to get the kinks worked out but when you do it is magic.

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 10:57 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok, now I have found a problem and I need some help.

I am using http://www.GSiteCrawler.com to create my Google and Yahoo! and MSN sitemaps. Now, Gsitecrawler usually finds each and ever new page sinceit essentially emulates GooleBot crawler.

My problem is this: Gsitecrawler is no finding the new URL's such as this:
http://www.travelexpert.us/hotel/orlando-fl-hotels.html

The page is a dynamically created webpage created with the rss2html script. I think it has something to do with the header or something. Also, I submitted the same page(s) to all the tertiary search engines using WebCEO software.. The same thing happened on another engine, the engine could not find the page.. but we have verified the page exists by using a computer at another location.

The pages in question, which cannot be found at located at the bottom of the main page at http://www.travelexpert.us there are about 230 of them.

I tried to find an answer over at GSiteCrawler, but they dont havemuch of a knowledge base. On the pages in question, I am utilizing the template to populate ALL of the header and body and footer information. I think it may have something to do with the timestamp? Basically, the search engine crawlers believe the page does not exist.

Can someone help? Please?

I guess maybe there is some <Head> information that needs to be in the had of each page and not just dynamically created.. or there is a field I need in the head tomake the search engine believe it is an actual webpage? I mean, the pages ARE there, the scrip is working, the page are .HTML with a Server side include code pasted from rss2html... but the Head section is being populated from the template anb from the RSS XML feed.

I would appreaciate a response from anyone that can offer suggestions or a solution.

HEEELLPP!!!!

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 12:16 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I am close to figuring it out. It was not the files on my travel expert site that the spiders were having a problem with, only on walbargain.com .. it has something to do with the file permissions for the folder and html files at my host... I am working on it now. Permissions like the old school DOS days I came from like RWCEMFA it's starting to come back to me now. I would recommend a spider emulator to anyone that creates new pages for the web.. it wont help if the engines or anyone else cant see them.. !! Yuk.

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:30 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok, I finally got it figured out.. why GSiteCrawler was not finding my NEW webpages.. It was not file permissions that I can tell..

Basically, I changed from a Windows Server to Linux/Apache server..

Anyway, I almost ALWAYS use a full url to link to every single page in my websites.. such as http://www.walbargain.com/walmart/walmart-electronics-special-discounts.html

versus using a document relative or root-relative path to the subfolders webpage. For some reason. I guess because I am on Linux now, the GsiteCrawler was NOT finding the new pages (which have the embedded SSI thus dynamically populating the webpage from the feed and the template) ... all of the links to over 40 new webpages were set to link using site relative paths listing http://www.walbargain.com/walmart/walmart-electronics-special-discounts.html

when I changed the links to utilize Root-relative paths such as: /walmart/walmart-electronics-special-discounts.html

then GsiteCrawler FOUND THE NEW PAGES!

IS THIS A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN LINUX/APACHE AND WINDOWS SERVERS? Do I need to visit the links on EVERY page I have and update them? OMG!

For some reason, now that I switched to Linux, my sitemaps are having ERRORS in them at Google where URL's are not being found.

Please comment on this if you would.

---------------------------------------------
In the Link field, type the path and file name of the document.
To link to a document in your site, enter a document-relative or root-relative path. To link to a document outside your site, enter an absolute path including the type of protocol (such as http://).

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:34 am Reply with quoteBack to top

My new pages I have raved about.. well they are great pages.. freshly updated content from the rss feed etc.. unfortunately, I wasnt exactly inventing the wheel.

I got the new pages into a site map for Google.. submitted it.. all is well, expect Google only indexed one page out of 233.. Kinda bummed about it.

It seems there is this nifto neaty url you can go to that checks for duplicate content. My content on all my pages is duplicated since half a million other websites already used the same tactic of populating pages with ready made rss feeds.. thus duplicate content and no indexing by Google.. It's still a good idea and a great script.. It is just not going to help me if the engines don't see my pages or wont index them.

If you have an RSS feed that is not already utilized in a doodoo load of other websites then you may be ok. I did a lot of work on it so I am bummed.. But I am fixing all my old pages with fresh content and new header info etc.. and even pursuing some other avenues of getting the word out there..

The best thing would be if you had your own rss feed that you crete yourself or that is not already on the internet.. You can follow what happened to me on a forum on Google for GSiteCrawler. Just look for GSite Crawler not finding new pages. It's kinda extensive .. Webado kinda flamed me and wasn't real nice about it which was uncalled for.

By the way, FeedBurner has a JAVA script where you can do something similar to FeedForAll.. That is if you want Google hosting your feed while you are attempting to get your feeds in Google's index.. And relying on Google to ping your blog to all the engines. Seems like everything is consolidated nowadays.. I didnt know that Google took over the DMOZ too.. Now, if MSFT succeeds in purchasing Yahoo! then we'll just have two doorways to the internet for most people.

I like free and open internet myself. Not that it's not that way, but the search engines are just a haven for big corporations that spend all the money.. just like tv radio and everything else.. The little guy cant get a leg up it seems.. But I havent stopped trying. inroads.. thats the keyword for the day - inroads...

back to updating my webpages for Travel Expert..

Good Luck to all.

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
webmaster



Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:43 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Search engines will not spider javascript, if you use javascript to display your feeds search engines will not see the contents of the feed when they spider a page.

Using PHP rather than JavaScript will mean that search engine spiders can "spider" the contents of the RSS feeds.

Additional information and other options for displaying RSS feeds can be found at: http://www.rss-specifications.com/displaying-rss-feeds.htm
View user's profile
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:06 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I agree about the javascript issue. At least with PHP the engines can see the content. I have a java script driven navigation bar on Destination Orlando that I am about to toss .. it has given me the exact same problems for years. But still the issue remains in regards to duplicate content. But hey, Google isnt the only search engine out there. even though they have 60% of the search market I still think the other engines and portals drive traffic. Thanks for the reply. I do like the scripts and will continue utilizing them. Even thoug the spiders like googlebot may think ihave duplicate content, I can still create relevant pages that are good sales tools for customers - pages which are populated with the latest hotel deals for all those cities.. and the pages are fresh and relevant..

Unfortunately, with search engines, they are deciding upon who sees what instead of just giving responses to a search. and they decide upon which sites are seen etc. It's a lot easier to sell tomatoes and onions out of the garage.

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 12:37 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Well, GoogleBot picked up another of my dynamically created pages.. so it is coming along.

I checked, and really, only one or two of the pages I have out of about 275 have any duplicated content. Webado - on Google forums stated I was too late to the "Gig" and that my pages were duplicate content and that my site would not survivew the "chop".. well, luckily, the site content is good, the pages are geared toward consumers looking for hotel discounts and I am relying on offline advertising to drive traffic to my sites.. not just praying to the search engine Gods..

anyway, I checked copyscape and very few other sites have the same content duplicated. It may just take some time for GoogleBot and other engines like Live Search and Yahoo! to index new pages.. even though you have a sitemap and etc..

Thanks again for the info on the javascript not being indexed, I have heard that over and over again. There are over 14,600,000 results on Google for a search of Orlando hotels. It's staggering - the amount of webpages and sites out there.

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 11:24 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Well, I jumped the gun taking Webado's advice - the person giving tech fsupport for GoogleSiteCrawler..... My content was not duplicated that much on the internet afrer all and so far Google has indexed over 179 of 228 url's.

Each of the URLS' contain the latest hotel deals for a different city in the world and each of the pages are dynamically created from a constantly updated RSS Feed which is generated by using the Rss2HTML script here and a template I created.

I would recommend this software/script to anyone.. It is just the docs need updated as it is a bit hard to understand for a novice like myself. Things are going much better and I am picking up traffic... this after my sites were offline for 3 years or so after having been on the net since 1999.

The script is awesome. I plan on jumping to the pro version and some other add ons once I if I ever get caught up. I switched to a Linux server at Go Daddy, and did not realize that it treated upper and lower case filenames differently than a Windows IIS box. SO I have lost some and gained some.

In general I think for me the script gives our site something that is hard to come by, fresh content, frequently updated, in HTML format that is spider engine friendly.

Thanks to all at FeedForAll..

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:21 am Reply with quoteBack to top

By the way Webmaster, I read an article that stated Googles official statement regarding RSS or XML Feeds.. the article stated that Googles Official Policy is to NOT index RSS Feeds since they are considered duplicate content.

I think this fact alone would be a good selling point for your scripts. Having the feeds as .html pages will at least allow the content to be indexed.

Anyone care to comment on this statement?

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
DLaurie



Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 37
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:33 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Not too much to report.

I have been very very pleased with the script!!! It is wonderful.

Google BOT indexed nearly every page I have that is populated by the scripts and feeds!!! Real happy about that.. the pages may not rank too high but I can always work on that.

There are many possibilities and usage for the scripts that I have not explored yet. Hope to soon though. My biggest problem was that to have the script work, I switched from a Windows server at Go Daddy to a Linux server at Go Daddy. When I did, I had some upper case and some LOWER case folder and filenames.. so I created a small nightmare for myself that has taken two weeks to clean up.. But it is still worth it.

_________________
Thank You,
David
http://www.TravelExpert.us
http://www.DestinationOrlando.com
http://www.gotoFlorida.net
http://www.WalBargain.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme