FeedForAll Forum Index  
 Home  •  FAQ  •   Search   •  Register   •  Profile   •  Log in
 HELP!! $errorCode = 3 ??? View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
smk17



Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:15 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I've been using the rss2html php script for two years with no problems at all, yesterday out of the blue I get the following error:

$errorCode = 3
xml_error_string() = no element found
xml_get_current_line_number() = 1
xml_get_current_column_number() = 21
xml_get_current_byte_index() = 21

Here is the page:
http://section4hoops.com/rss_scores.php

And here is the home page where the link is (click on Game Scores)
http://section4hoops.com/

Thanks For any help
Steve
View user's profileVisit poster's website
smk17



Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:31 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Here is the feed:

http://www.d1006281.dotsterhost.com/applications/wordpress/?feed=rss2

Would this have something to do with the host service provider Dotster?
View user's profileVisit poster's website
smk17



Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 8:11 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I just upgraded to version 3.13 today thinking that may be my problem. The error is still there, but some numbers are different:

Here's the old error using version 2.52:

$errorCode = 3
xml_error_string() = no element found
xml_get_current_line_number() = 1
xml_get_current_column_number() = 21
xml_get_current_byte_index() = 21

Here's the new error using version 3.13:

$errorCode = 3
xml_error_string() = no element found
xml_get_current_line_number() = 1
xml_get_current_column_number() = 39
xml_get_current_byte_index() = 39

Thought this might help someone narrow it down? Cause I have no idea.
View user's profileVisit poster's website
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2793

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:54 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Hmm... this is a little odd but maybe I'm misunderstanding a step. I went to your main site and clicked on the Game Scores link. It took me here: http://www.d1006281.dotsterhost.com/applications/wordpress/ and your game scores did display.

I opened this link: http://www.d1006281.dotsterhost.com/applications/wordpress/?feed=rss2 which you posted directly and I got a blank page. Just... nothing on it.

Then I went to the direct link http://section4hoops.com/rss_scores.php and got the error you were referring to.

Error aside, is this the same behavior you're seeing?

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
smk17



Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:24 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks for replying.

I was afraid that would happen. After I posted this problem I went back to my site and changed the link to the Game Scores page, just so people could see some type of game score instead of that error page. But it's not the one they usually see.

This is the page I want them to see that has been working until a few days ago, the one you saw the error on:
http://section4hoops.com/rss_scores.php

This page:
http://www.d1006281.dotsterhost.com/applications/wordpress/

is where the scores are coming from but it's not the way I want it to look so I used the rss2html script.

I have contacted Dotster t see if it's something wrong with the feed also.

Thanks for your help
View user's profileVisit poster's website
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2793

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:35 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm not sure this will help but it may point you in the right direction:

http://www.feedforall.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2400

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
smk17



Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:20 am Reply with quoteBack to top

The link you provided is the exact same error, but it didn't really help me figure it out. I'm not using rssmesh.

That guy said he was able to correct it by changing this:

$useOutputCaching = 0;

in his cbwmesh-config.php file, but I don't have any file like that to change.

I did a search in my php pfile for this:

$this->ItemRssMesh_extra = $this->rssMesh_extra;

And I found it, and changed it to what you suggested, but it didn't change anything.
View user's profileVisit poster's website
smk17



Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:37 am Reply with quoteBack to top

So am I to assume no one knows the what, where, why of this error? How can something work for two years and then out of the blue, when no related files have even been touched, revised, or even looked at, it stops working and gets an error?

I hope I don't sound rude to you, I appreciate your help but this kind of error always baffles me.
View user's profileVisit poster's website
smk17



Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 9:01 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I've found a handful of other sites with the same problem:

http://posingideas.com/html.php
http://www.jameskromnaturalimages.com/html.php
http://www.goodsamfound.org/fotoplayerslideshow/html.php
http://www.i-netads.com/search.php?c=/World/Kannada/
http://www.box-of-rain.com/thanh/blog.php

http://www.birminghamhairdresser.co.uk/_Internet-Site.php
(this one uses the feedforall script, the others may as well, but you can see the path right on the page)

Please someone help
View user's profileVisit poster's website
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2793

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Can you please post these three items, so we can try digging a little deeper:

1. The link to the rss feed you are using as the source of the info

2. The link to the template you are using with rss2html

3. The link to your rss2html.php file on your server

Thanks

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
smk17



Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:27 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I fixed it. Actually I didn't fix it, and still don't know what happened, but I just upgraded the WordPress blog software that was providing the feed. With the newer feed it now works. Thanks for your help, it wasn't the rss2html.
View user's profileVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme