FeedForAll Forum Index  
 Home  •  FAQ  •   Search   •  Register   •  Profile   •  Log in
 RSS to MYSQL recently started stripping out "<" View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
infinite110



Joined: 01 Dec 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:40 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

recently RSS to MYSQL started stripping out "<" & ">"

So all html is invalid. I have added this system to out content managment system DriveCMS.com and everything was working great. Then i think we upgraded the database to MYSQL 5.0 community and this issue began happening.

Ive looked thru the whole code and cant figure out when this is happening
View user's profileAIM Address
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2782

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:14 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

So, to be sure I understand:

When field data was read in, that happened to have "<" or ">" in the field data, sql2rss used to pass them though, but now (after at mysql version upgrade) they get stripped out.

Is that correct?

No sql2rss version change involved?

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
infinite110



Joined: 01 Dec 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 4:23 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

yes this is true..

No code was changed or upgraded. Only MYSQL was updated
View user's profileAIM Address
Tech Support



Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 2782

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:56 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok, thanks. I will see if I can find some release notes for MySQL and see what function behavior may have changed between versions.

_________________
Create RSS Feeds
Audio Recording and Editing
View user's profile
psostre



Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:52 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Can't wait to get a resolution for this. See examples here:

After update: http://www.itrello.com/article.php?id=2930

Before update: http://www.itrello.com/article.php?id=2525

Notice before it translated all code properly, now the articles are all messed up because the < and > we're stripped out before pushing the feed into the db.

Help!
View user's profile
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

psostre wrote:
Can't wait to get a resolution for this. See examples here:

After update: http://www.itrello.com/article.php?id=2930

Before update: http://www.itrello.com/article.php?id=2525

Notice before it translated all code properly, now the articles are all messed up because the < and > we're stripped out before pushing the feed into the db.

Help!


How is the data put into MySQL?

If you do a manual select are the angle brackets in there?

Jim

_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/

FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
support@FeedForAll.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
infinite110



Joined: 01 Dec 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:49 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

It looks as if its being stripped out on input to mysql

all the code is stored as displayed in the database.
View user's profileAIM Address
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:31 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

infinite110 wrote:
It looks as if its being stripped out on input to mysql

all the code is stored as displayed in the database.


I ran a test here with MySQL 5.0 and it imported feed with HTML formating without a problem. Is it possible that the change was in the feed itself? Can you post or email me the link to the feed you are having problems importing.

Jim

_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/

FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
support@FeedForAll.com
View user's profileVisit poster's website
gavinwilliams



Joined: 15 May 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 1:41 am Reply with quoteBack to top

yes this is true.hmm,it is true.There was no changed or upgraded in code.Only MYSQL has been updated.

_________________
Expert Web Designer
View user's profile
yahoolane



Joined: 14 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 1:06 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Here are the examples you wanted
Main Feed
http://feeds.pheedo.com/newscientist_online-news

http://feeds.newscientist.com/c/749/f/10897/s/4afeee7/l/0L0Snewscientist0N0Carticle0Cmg20A2271250B10A0A0Epoor0Efarmers0Eto0Eguard0Eearths0Ecrop0Eriches0Bhtml0DDCMP0FOTC0Erss0Gnsref0Fonline0Enews/story01.htm

Inside <description>
&lt;td valign='middle'&gt;&lt;a href="

The System seems to be using the & codes,
and the & codes are not written into the database ItemContentEncoded
l'table border='0'trtd valign='middle'a href="http
View user's profile
yahoolane



Joined: 14 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 1:31 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Feed
http://www.fool.com/xml/foolnews_rss091.xml

http://feeds.fool.com/~r/usmf/foolwatch/~3/Wqc1RQwXRRE/mcdonalds-strikes-at-starbucks.aspx

Again the &
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=

The database has Missing brackets
pa href="http
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme