FeedForAll Forum Index ?
?Home?????FAQ????? Search ?????Memberlist ?????Register ?????Profile? ????Log in
?Variable for actual feed URL View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
woolljam



Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:03 am Reply with quoteBack to top

IE7 and other auto-discovery tools require a in the head section of the document that includes the title and feed URL. I am able to place RSS2HTML variable in the head of the template but am missing the variable for the actual feed URL (ie, the .xml, .rss, .rdf) file.

Am I missing something or is the actual feed address not available as a variable? If it isn't available, it should be.

Jim
View user's profileSend private message
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:07 am Reply with quoteBack to top

woolljam wrote:
IE7 and other auto-discovery tools require a in the head section of the document that includes the title and feed URL. I am able to place RSS2HTML variable in the head of the template but am missing the variable for the actual feed URL (ie, the .xml, .rss, .rdf) file.

Am I missing something or is the actual feed address not available as a variable? If it isn't available, it should be.

Jim


If I understand the question right, you want $XMLfilename

Jim
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
woolljam



Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:36 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks for the quick response. Your other variables are so easy to use. For example, in the in the head, I put "~~~FeedTitle~~~" and it works great. However, I'm not sure how to call the $XMLfilename variable in the href=" "

If I place a different variable using ~~~FeedURL~~~ for example, then it works...but I need the XMLfilename. I tried ~~~$XMLfilename~~~, echo $XMLfilename, ~~~XMLfilename~~~, etc....but it's not calling it properly.

Here's the link in my :

View user's profileSend private message
woolljam



Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:37 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks for the quick response. Your other variables are so easy to use. For example, in the in the head, I put "~~~FeedTitle~~~" and it works great. However, I'm not sure how to call the $XMLfilename variable in the href=" "

If I place a different variable using ~~~FeedURL~~~ for example, then it works...but I need the XMLfilename. I tried ~~~$XMLfilename~~~, echo $XMLfilename, ~~~XMLfilename~~~, etc....but it's not calling it properly.

Here's the link in my :

View user's profileSend private message
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:47 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

woolljam wrote:
Thanks for the quick response. Your other variables are so easy to use. For example, in the in the head, I put "~~~FeedTitle~~~" and it works great. However, I'm not sure how to call the $XMLfilename variable in the href=" "

If I place a different variable using ~~~FeedURL~~~ for example, then it works...but I need the XMLfilename. I tried ~~~$XMLfilename~~~, echo $XMLfilename, ~~~XMLfilename~~~, etc....but it's not calling it properly.

Here's the link in my :



That is not so easy, you are right. I will look at adding that capability.

Jim
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
woolljam



Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:56 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

This would be a great feature. IE7 and other browsers that do auto-discovery require this link in the . Being able to automatically put the correct link there would be powerful.

So, how difficult is it going to be for you to create a similar ~~~VARIABLEHERE~~~ variable for the $XMLfilename? Is it something that you might be able to do quickly?

I'm under some tight deadlines on a project and this feature would really help.
View user's profileSend private message
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:01 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

woolljam wrote:
This would be a great feature. IE7 and other browsers that do auto-discovery require this link in the . Being able to automatically put the correct link there would be powerful.

So, how difficult is it going to be for you to create a similar ~~~VARIABLEHERE~~~ variable for the $XMLfilename? Is it something that you might be able to do quickly?

I'm under some tight deadlines on a project and this feature would really help.


Okay, this should be all you need to do, change

Code:
? $template = str_replace("~~~FeedTitle~~~", $rss_parser->FeedTitle, $template);


to

Code:
? $template = str_replace("~~~FeedXMLFilename~~~", $XMLFilename, $template);
? $template = str_replace("~~~FeedTitle~~~", $rss_parser->FeedTitle, $template);


Jim
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
woolljam



Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:49 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Jim,

First, let me say WOW! That was fast. However, it still doesn't appear to be working. It does something, because when I code href="~~~FeedXMLFilename~~~" and then view the page in a browser using View Source, it shows href="". So nothing there, but at least not showing the variable name, etc.

I experimented by adding a var statement on line 269
var $XMLFilename = "";

but that didn't seem to change anything, so I pulled it out.

Any suggestions?
View user's profileSend private message
MacSupport



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:58 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

woolljam wrote:
Jim,

First, let me say WOW! That was fast. However, it still doesn't appear to be working. It does something, because when I code href="~~~FeedXMLFilename~~~" and then view the page in a browser using View Source, it shows href="". So nothing there, but at least not showing the variable name, etc.

I experimented by adding a var statement on line 269
var $XMLFilename = "";

but that didn't seem to change anything, so I pulled it out.

Any suggestions?


That is because it sould be $XMLfilename, it should be a lowercase "F". My mistake.

Jim
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
woolljam



Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:02 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Awesome! Worked perfect once I got the lowercase f in place. Excellent feature! Should prove to be quite valuable for auto-discovery.

Jim
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:?? ? ?
Post new topicReply to topic


?Jump to:? ?



View next topic
View previous topic


Powered by phpBB ? 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme