 |
? |
Author |
Message |
Norbertw
Joined: 09 Apr 2007
Posts: 5
|
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 2:54 am |

|
Hi,
First of all, let me say I am very excited with how RSS2HTML performs.
I am trying to use a small java script to create the ItemDescription as a tooltip when the mouse hovers over the ItemLink. However I expect not all Characters not found in the normal alphanumeric character set are correctly converted using the str.replace function in the RSS2HTML routine. JS gives an error everytime a non normal character is used in the ItemDescription.
Maybe its because I am using Dutch feeds, with characters like ö, è, é, ë etc.
Can I add some lines in the routine to add replacing functions so the problem can be fixed?
Thanks,
Norbert
|
|
|
 |
 |
MacSupport
Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805
|
Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:01 am |

|
Norbertw wrote: |
Hi,
First of all, let me say I am very excited with how RSS2HTML performs.
I am trying to use a small java script to create the ItemDescription as a tooltip when the mouse hovers over the ItemLink. However I expect not all Characters not found in the normal alphanumeric character set are correctly converted using the str.replace function in the RSS2HTML routine. JS gives an error everytime a non normal character is used in the ItemDescription.
Maybe its because I am using Dutch feeds, with characters like ö, è, é, ë etc.
Can I add some lines in the routine to add replacing functions so the problem can be fixed?
Thanks,
Norbert |
By default rss2html.php creates feeds in the UTF-8 character set, so that all characters can be displayed. Is your page also set to that character set? Do you have to tell JavaScript to use that character set?
Yes, you can add code to do what every character replacements you want, or even change the destination character set if you want.
Jim
|
_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/
FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
|
|

|
 |
Norbertw
Joined: 09 Apr 2007
Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:34 am |

|
MacSupport wrote: |
By default rss2html.php creates feeds in the UTF-8 character set, so that all characters can be displayed. Is your page also set to that character set? Do you have to tell JavaScript to use that character set?
Yes, you can add code to do what every character replacements you want, or even change the destination character set if you want.
Jim |
Could you give me an idea where in the code i need to add the extra replacement routines (I am no PHP wiz)?
Thanks,
Norbert
|
|
|
 |
 |
MacSupport
Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 2805
|
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:42 am |

|
Norbertw wrote: |
MacSupport wrote: |
By default rss2html.php creates feeds in the UTF-8 character set, so that all characters can be displayed. Is your page also set to that character set? Do you have to tell JavaScript to use that character set?
Yes, you can add code to do what every character replacements you want, or even change the destination character set if you want.
Jim |
Could you give me an idea where in the code i need to add the extra replacement routines (I am no PHP wiz)?
Thanks,
Norbert
|
If that is actually the cause, right in the top section of the file is
Code: |
$destinationEncoding="UTF-8"; |
change it to
Code: |
$destinationEncoding="ISO-8859-1"; |
Jim
|
_________________
Be sure to check out the FeedForAll Mac tutorials at: http://www.FeedForAll.com/tutorials/
FeedForAll Mac and rss2html.php
|
|

|
 |
HarryJohon
Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Location: United states
|
Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:36 am |

|
As a matter of course rss2html.php makes nourishes in the UTF-8 character set, [url=http://www.testking.net/testking-HP2-B109.htm]HP2-B109 brain dumps - testking.net[/url] so all characters can be shown. Is your page additionally situated to that character set? Do you need to advise Javascript to utilize that character set?
Yes, you can add code to do what each character substitutions you need, or even change the end character set on the off chance that you need.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|
|